First of this year’s Christmas cards made

It’s hard to believe that it’s time to start making Christmas cards again but here we are at the very end of September and I need to get started. I have had the opportunity to put a basket of my cards in a local cafe and should start adding some Christmas cards to it as well as making my own to send out to family and friends.

It looks like I might have a job (at least a part time one for now and then full time over the 6 weeks of the Christmas school holidays) so there is sadly little chance that I’ll get to spend my Christmas with my children and grandchild this year…its a long way from Mollymook to Brisbane. Getting work is a priority though so I’ll have to start aiming to spend Christmas with them next year.

I had a couple of favourite papers that I used a lot for my cards last year and fortunately I had a few bits left as well as finding some lovely new ones from this years range. After getting on line and doing some searching I’m very pleased to have been able to track down a few of the ones I loved last year and have ordered some- Father Christmas Trading Cards from Pink Paisley were just gorgeous and I also found the Echo Park Holly Berry  page to be very useful.

I used some of the new Graphic 45 papers for the card above and am pleased with the vintage feel that it has.

This card uses one of the Tim Holtz embossing folders as the base and then I rubbed the raised embossing with gold ink to highlight the dates. The tag comes from the same page from Graphic 45  as the card at the top of the post and a bit of  gold ribbon and a bow and the card is finished. Nice and easy and quick.

I am very pleased with the McGill pine tree branch punch that I got earlier in the year. A lovely friend (thanks Julie) brought it back from the States for me when she returned from spending Christmas with her folks. It makes lovely wreaths and when you add a few rhinestone decorations you have a great centrepiece for a card.I’ve used up some of the left over papers from last year for this one-can’t remember the name or brand but I like the colours. The Merry Christmas stamp is a Tim Holtz one.

The last card I’m showing you today is one that I have made using my Cricut machine. The reindeer and the Merry Christmas come from the Joys of the Season cartridge. I  used a Martha Stewart punch to make the decorative borders, and I ran the reindeer through the Cuttlebug on the Divine Swirls folder to give him some texture.

2 Comments

Filed under cardmaking, Uncategorized

2 responses to “First of this year’s Christmas cards made

  1. Monica

    Wow what beautiful cards!!
    ~Monica

Leave a Reply

