Memories….

I pick up the photo and stare at the image

I remember the time and the place

I think of the laughter and joy of the days

As we wandered with no need for haste

 

 

It is good to remember the times that we had

In places we’d dreamed of exploring

I wish we’d been able to weather the storms

And keep growing together with grace.

 

 

But these photos remind me that we walk on a path

That winds through the valleys and peaks

The turns that we take and the choices we make

Determine the road up ahead.

 

 

We need to rejoice in the blessings we have

To endure through the good and the bad

And remember the guarantee won on the Cross

Is the only one that in life can be had.

This year has been a hard one for me….. in January my husband of 35 years and I separated. After so long, life without your partner is a hard thing to navigate. I’m not used to being alone, to making all the decisions. It’s hard not having the comfort of someone beside you in the bed, little noises that wouldn’t have worried me at night now become things to be concerned about. The comfort of a shared past is no longer there.

A few months ago I was looking through the photos of the overseas trips that John and I had taken back in 2008-2009 with our work. These trips were exciting times for us and we thoroughly enjoyed the experiences that we had so I decided to start scrap booking them.

Of course I have felt sad as I look at the memories of mostly happier times….. but as I have been working on the Hawaii album it has brought back so many lovely memories. I’ve also had the fun of  looking up the places and names and information about the places we went to and experienced.

I have been so blessed to have these wonderful memories and so even though it is sad looking through them at times, the joy far outweighs the sadness.

So I will continue to scrap the photos and remember the good times…. and be grateful that I have them to look back on.

2 Comments

Filed under scrapbooking, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Memories….

  1. Christine

    Love the poem Kathie…..
    and the blog too….
    you will get there with a little help from your friends!!!

Leave a Reply

