Songbirds and Christmas Birds

Well what a lovely weekend I’m having!
I belong to a singing group called The Glorious MUDsingers (MUD stands for Milton Ulladulla District) and we were invited to perform at the Kangaroo Valley Folk Festival, with two performances on Saturday. This was to be my first actual public performance with the group and so I was really looking forward to the experience.

My friend Jan decided to come down from Sydney and so we planned to meet up in Bowral on Friday evening, attend the festival on Saturday and then for me to show her around the Milton Ulladulla area on Sunday before she headed home in the afternoon.


Jan kindly booked us into a lovely guesthouse in Bowral called Berrida Manor for Friday night. I arrived up there in the early afternoon, explored the area a bit and had a swim in the indoor pool before Jan arrived after finishing work.


Bowral is a historic small town in the NSW Southern Highlands. The streets are lined with beautiful Liquid-ambars and Flowering Fruit trees,they have a Tulip festival each spring but unfortunately we were just a week or so too late to see them.

Saturday morning we drove around admiring the beautiful gardens and houses, checked out a couple of the many art galleries in the area and had morning tea at a fascinating cafe called Elephant Boy cafe. The walls are lined with shelves of old books-not for sale but for reading and if I lived there I know I would be spending many an hour trying to finish a book I’d started while drinking lots of coffee!
We then headed down to Kangaroo Valley and when we got there we managed to catch a few of the acts – I  particularly enjoyed a group called the Blue Goose Band.Then it was time for me to head off to the MUDsingers first performance in St Josephs Church.
Our first performance went really well although it was somewhat squashy with around 40 or so singers and the audience as well there wasn’t a lot of room, our perfomance  even received  a standing ovation at the end.
After our set it was back to hear a few more acts – The Original Snakeskins and the Melissa Main Trio were very different from each other but both equally good and enjoyable.
Our second performance was in the Community Hall and it was fantastic watching the faces of the audience change from polite interest to huge enjoyment. It was such a great buzz being part of something that is so good but also such fun. Its the first time I’ve ever been to a Folk Festival and I think I’ll be looking out for the next one- if you get the chance to go to one, I’d really recommend that you do. The diversity of the acts is huge- I saw Morris Dancers, Blues, Folk and Jazz groups and performers as well as some that almost defy description!
Here are a couple of the cards I’ve made this week. The cricut cartridge I used was Winter Frolic and I also used the Cuttlebug embossing snowflake folder.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

