“Hello darkness my old friend, I’ve come to talk with you again.” ― Paul Simon

quotes 3At various times over my life I have suffered from insomnia and I find it to be a particular form of torture. My insomnia usually takes the form of being exhausted, getting to the very edge of unconsciousness  …..but then nothing happens.

Why is it that then countless thoughts and worries start to crowd my mind?quote 1

I must admit that I have done some good problem solving in the early hours. It is also a good time to pray. However more often than not it’s when the negatives come flooding in. The worries. The regrets.

But [Pooh] couldn’t sleep. The more he tried to sleep the more he couldn’t. He tried counting Sheep, which is sometimes a good way of getting to sleep, and, as that was no good, he tried counting Heffalumps. And that was worse. Because every Heffalump that he counted was making straight for a pot of Pooh’s honey, and eating it all. For some minutes he lay there miserably, but when the five hundred and eighty-seventh Heffalump was licking its jaws, and saying to itself, “Very good honey this, I don’t know when I’ve tasted better,” Pooh could bear it no longer.”
A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Because I’ve been coughing so much I haven’t had a lot of sleep the last week and I feel exhausted. I’m about to go to bed and try again.

  • Dear sleep, I’m sorry I hated you when I was a kid, but now I cherish every moment with you.

Sleeplessness

Leave a comment

Filed under life, living my life

Leave a comment